Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

First NAS

Hi guys- Love your videos and I've learned a lot. Thank you!

That said, I'm not confident in choosing components for my 1st NAS without direction from people who know what they are talking about.

Use cases are photo backup, multi device access, and personal cloud. I currently have 5TB of photos spread between two 3TB hard drives. I retired this year meaning more photography and more storage space.

I'm willing to spend more for SSDs because I would like it to be as quiet as possible. I’m thinking of five 2TB SATA SSDs.

Security is a priority so even though I like the sound of a more open system I’d probably steer clear of QNAP without some assurance their issues are overblown.

I'm 70 years old and I've been playing with computers since the 1980s but no formal training. I did build a PC years ago.

Can you tell me which NAS to buy, which drives to populate it with, and which RAID to set up?