Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

First NAS, edit on VM?

Hey guys, thanks so much for offering this advice portal! I'm sure I'm going to come off like a total knob. I am a total noob. I have no infrastructure other than a pretty high power desktop I use for work as a designer and photographer, and a bunch of random external drives. All the recent sales on data storage got me looking into setting up a NAS and raid. But of course as I went down the rabbit hole I learned about other things I could do like stream media with Plex and set up a virtual machine. So, I'm just looking for a recommendation on where to go from here. At a minimum I think I'll get something like a Synology 423+ to use for storage, backup and NAS. But, I'm interested in building something that would allow me to edit 4K video, raw photos, 3D design and other windows-based design applications from my iPad remotely. Not having a laptop means I have to be home to do my work. I don't really want to invest in a laptop that isn't powerful enough to do my work, so VM?
Hi there! It's great to hear that you're interested in setting up a NAS for your data storage and backup needs. Based on your requirements, it sounds like the Synology 423+ would be a good choice for you if you only edit 1080p videos or do editing on a PC SSD and NAS use for finished projects..

In terms of editing 4K video and using design applications remotely from your iPad, there are a few things to consider. Firstly, editing 4K video remotely requires a lot of bandwidth, so you'll want to make sure you have a fast and reliable internet connection. You'll also want to make sure your NAS has enough processing power and memory to handle these tasks. The Synology 423+ has a quad-core CPU and 2GB of DDR4 memory, which should be sufficient for basic video editing and design work but not 4k.