Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

NAS performance upgrade for video editing

Hi NAScompares,

I work as a full-time video editor and also have 1 occasional video editor on my team. We edit .mov files mostly, up to 3 times a year project size is 500-600 GB, other projects are smaller. Editing with proxies.

We have the Synology DS1522+ with 3 x 10TB Ironwolf Pro HDDs. No upgrades yet.

Most of the advice I find regarding speed and performance for video editing is about upgrading the system to 10gbe.

However, in our current location, we do not have the option to upgrade our internet to 10 Gbps. We currently have 500 Mbps and will upgrade soon to 1 Gbps, which is the max we can get until we move out to another location at the end of this year.

What would be our best options to speed up performance for now without upgrading to 10gbe?
Does installing NVMe SSD cache make sense with a 1gbe connection?
Shall I upgrade RAM and fill the 2 empty HDD slots?
Which action should I prioritize in case the budget is too small?

Thank you for your help.
Emilija
Since you are using proxies for editing, the most significant bottleneck for your editing workflow is most likely the speed of the storage disks rather than the network connection. Upgrading the RAM may help in improving performance if you experience any issues with large project files, but it is not likely to provide a significant improvement in overall performance.

Installing NVMe SSD cache (now also nvme pools) can help in improving read and write speeds of frequently accessed files and increase overall system performance, but it may not be as effective as upgrading to 10gbe for your particular use case.