Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Advice on DIY NAS plans

Hello! I was hoping you could review my high level DIY NAS plans and possibly offer advice or hardware suggestions. I'm looking to build something for file storage (photos, videos, documents, games, et), editing 4k Youtube/Twitch videos, and to host various services via Docker. My background is very technical. I'm a software engineer, I've been building my own computers since I was 10, and I'm pretty comfortable with k8s and docker.

My current plan is...
Docker Pool: nvmes in raidz1
File Pool: Either SATA SSD's or HDD's in raidz1
Network: 10gbe (limited by cat6)
CPU: Threadripper or server CPU
GPU: Integrated or cheap
RAM: 64 GB
Backup: Backblaze

I'd like to start with less disks and leave room to expand over time and ensure I'm saturating the network connection.

Questions:
Does it make sense to have 2 pools?
Should I stick to 1 disk type?
Any CPU and mobo recommendations?
Should I start with more RAM?
10gbe switch and pcie card recommendations?

Thanks!
It looks like you have a solid plan for your DIY NAS build. Here are some recommendations to consider:

Having two separate pools (one for Docker and one for file storage) can provide benefits such as isolating storage resources and reducing potential performance issues. However, this will depend on your specific use case and needs. If you are planning to host many Docker containers and have high I/O requirements, a separate pool for Docker may make sense. Otherwise, you can consider using a single pool for both Docker and file storage.