Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Just cancelled a DS923+ order, do I wait?

Hi.

I've just cancelled an order for a DS923+ (600€ on amazon.de) and I am not sure whether it was a smart move.

I'm new to NAS and want one to do the following things:
- Take strain off the PC that's currently a media server and main work computer
- Replace my reliance on GAFA photo/file solutions after a Google "bug" resulted in me receiving lots of other people's videos
- Act as a secure hub for all our work files - as two self-employed work-from-home types
- Backup files across laptops, PC, mobile..
The Synology software seems the best but there seems to be a lot of reaction to their 923+ release. I will use the NAS for media serving - but our PC is powerful and has a good graphics card, such that I could transcode an alternative file on there before adding to was (in fact, tips on how to automated this would be appreciated).
So I am kind of in a horrible position - I feel ready to buy, but paralysed by the lack of clear indication towards what to buy.
Help!

Choosing the right NAS can be a daunting task, but don't worry, I'm here to help. Based on your needs, it sounds like the DS920+ or DS220+ would be good options for you. These models are less expensive than the DS923+ and can still handle your needs.

Both the DS920+ and DS220+ can act as a media server, and they both have Synology's excellent software. They also support file backups across laptops, PCs, and mobile devices. In addition, they both have good hardware specs, including quad-core processors and 2GB of RAM (expandable to 8GB on the DS920+).

If you're concerned about transcoding, you can set up the NAS to use your PC for transcoding before adding files to the NAS. Synology has a good guide on how to do this on their website.

In terms of the DS923+, while it is a powerful NAS, it may be overkill for your needs and budget. Ultimately, it's up to you to decide if the extra features and power are worth the price.