Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Which NAS to extend storage for surveillance video

Hi,
I’d like your advice on the choice of NAS for a system I’m installing which is mainly focussed on home surveillance and storage of family photos. I’ve already got part of the solution but am wondering how best to extend for additional storage.

FYI
I’m a software developer that in a past life designed circuit boards and other hardware so I have the ability to delve into the depths of a machine/software but I’m more than happy to use an out of the box solution where thinking isn’t always required.

Requirements
• Home surveillance - Record 8 4k cameras 7/24. Playback from home only, I do not need remote access.
• Storage of family photos. - I’d like to store photos for local access. I’ve too many DVDs, USB drives with multiple copies of the same thing in an ad-hoc way rather than a managed back up.
Ideally I’ve have a separate storage (folder) linked to Google Photos so my phone pushes to Google and they are then synced locally. I can then review the google photos on the NAS and move them to permanent local storage if I want to keep them or delete them if unwanted. I’d like to just use Google as a simple way to take photos and move them to local storage if I want to keep them. This also lets the wife do the same thing without having to download from the phone, ask me lots of questions etc.
• VMs - This is a nice to have and might be a future option but It wouldn’t be a deal breaker if it wasn’t possible to run a VM.
• Maintenance - I‘d like to keep things simple so they are easier to manage once setup. Setup can take time but I’d like to perform basic system monitoring each month rather than making constant configuration updates.