Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

upgrading 2008 Photo editing desktop to laptop, need external storage for large files

Hey guys, Thanks so much for all your informative content. I'm a noob to NAS and have been learning from your videos, especially this past week.

I'm looking at upgrading my circa 2008 home built Q9450, ASUS p5k-e wifi, Win 7 64 desktop PC, with a pretty tight budget at the moment. I'm looking at a Gigabyte AERO 17 XE5 laptop with the black friday sales which I will probably pickup on Wed this week. On my current system I have OS & programs on a 120GB ssd and then my primary photo storage is ~4TB worth on a pair of 3TB drives in Raid 0 (so 6TB), with a daily manual backup (via Synctoy) to an internal 10TB WD Gold drive (first installed ~4-5 yrs ago). My secondary backup is external to another 10TB WD Gold attached via a usb 3 docking station. I've dabbled with Ubuntu for personal use over the last decade so was intrigued by your recent video about other uses for a nas with your talk of virtual machines and ubuntu in Qnap systems.

Since this past Spring I was determined to switch to a MAC system given how powerful and efficient the new MacBook pros are, and with a desire to be working more remotely in the near future. So even though I'm probably going to be buying a Windows 10 laptop this week (outrageous current sale prices, but also recently learned my accounting software of SAGE 50 is Windows only). So anyway, a big part of this is that I'm interested in having a storage system that is compatible with Mac & Windows primarily and Ubuntu maybe as well.