Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New DAS/NAS drive

Hi,

I’ve been watching your YT videos with a huge degree of confidence and if you have a dash of spare time, I would like to know your thoughts on my backup conundrum:

I am a photographer using the Canon R3 mirrorless camera and currently have 6Tb of photos plus 4Tb of other stuff on my hard drives. Photos are being added to the drives at around 500Gb to 1Tb per year. I have previously suffered from major hard drive failure in the past so I’m now quite concerned about backups. I know we should have 3 forms of backup: 2 onsite plus one offsite and those onsite should ideally be in different formats. So my setup is:
1. Drobo DAS 5D3 (updated with a Samsung mSATA 250Gb SSD card) with 5x Ironwolf Pro 14Tb in each slot and dual redundancy. It is partitioned with 10Tb resevered for backup and the rest (28Tb) is for data.
2. Synology NAS DS1621+ (updated with 64Gb Kingston ram as per your video, with two Synology 400Gb M.2 NVM cards and with the 10GbE card) set to SHR2 with 12Tb, 12Tb, 16Tb and 16Tb Ironwolf Pro hard drives plus 8Tb Barracuda hard drive. Total actual space is approx 29Tb.
3. 8Tb Ironwolf Barracuda in housed in a powered external enclosure that lives in my laptop bag with just the photos on it. I’m fully aware that this is not an ideal solution but my Amazon Prime account is being closed by Amazon in the near future. I don’t want to pay for an annual cloud subscription as current prices are around £80/2Tb so this would cost me about £2400/decade. I am happy to eventually buy and use single 18Tb drives in an external enclosure that can remain at a relative’s house and be backed up once a month.