Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Suggeste NAS

Currently using Kodi 19.3 on a Nvidia Shield streaming media from a Buffalo LS-QVL/R5 with two 6TB and two 4TB drives in a RAID 10. My media files do not share all the same encoding. I have a few 4K 2160p files. The Buffalo has done everything I've asked it to do. I use the upscaling feature on the Shield, too. I've been looking into media servers.

My buddy has used Plex for many years and so I've seen and used it pretty extensively. I only recently heard of Emby and I'm currently on a trial with them using their Android app on my Shield. I'm still learning what Emby can and cannot do but I think I may pay for their Premium service at some point even though in the back of my mind, Plex seems like a more known quantity to me. Emby is slightly cheaper, as well. Truthfully, the Embruary skin for Kodi that I've been using seems pretty nice even though it doesn't have all of the extras the other two have like, trailers, skip intros, etc.

Regardless of what I do, it's time to upgrade my storage. Remote access and the ability to backup discrete devices remotely seems like a benefit as is the ability to stream or view media remotely. I've also recently learned of Docker and Btfrs support. I don't know what that is yet but it seems like most want the capability even if they're not seeing the benefits of it in their current use. The ability to transcode on the fly is important, too. Or maybe not. My current TV is a several year old 1080p non-smart TV but I want to get a newer OLED for the living room, keeping my current one.

I have two 8TB drives, a 2TB, and a 3TB that I plan to use initially. Once I've established the new RAID and migrated any data, I'll move the two 6TB drives from the Buffalo to the new NAS. Synology seems to make efficient use of HD space with SHR but I'm open to whatever will do the job.