Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

NAS Video Editing

Hello,

i am a FPV Pilot based on Cinematography (i only record on gopros)
so its about 5gb for 5 min.

I wanted to build a nas just for easy Plex acces to my MKV library

but i also started a small business and i have a really messy system with editing and saving my footage....
i edit acutally on my ssds, when i am done i move every file to a hard drive.

now i my main plan was to buy a
"Synology DS920+" and Start with Raid 1 (2x14TB) and add more drives later) to Raid 5....

i know you write i should best get a nas with 10gb port or thunderbolt,
and best with 6-8 drives because of speed....

(my nas is in my office room so it should be as quiet es possible ( i think WD Red plus should be quieter and same speed as Seageate Pro right?

if you could tell me what NAS itself would be good? i would also upgrade drives later on or maybe directly if needed but its so much money for "just" storage so i am a bit unsure...

i dont want to buy a second nas in 1 or 2 years better now a good soultion....

Thank you!