Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Large capacity NAS advice build/buy?

I currently have a 12 year old Netgear Readynas Ultra 6, I upgraded the firmware to the last version of the software which got me a lot more milage out of it, but the intel Atom cpu is too slow to run plex, and at this point it's capacity is maxed out, it takes a week to do a parity rebuild and volume expansion.

Currently it is running 4 20 tb drives and 2 22 tb drives for a total raid 5 (X:raid) volume of ~93tb once it finishes it's current re-sync and expansion.

I hesitate to even try putting 24 or 30 tb drives in it a i don't think it will like HAMR or SAS, no idea if when sata versions with CMR will be available and it's pretty dang full, only about 8TB free, so needless to say I think it's time for a new NAS.

I've never built a PC before despite being technical, I could probably manage but picking compatible parts always has me a little nervous, I like UNRAID and think I've seen enough videos I could manage that well enough, so building a NAS is possible, but I have somewhat specific requirements from the builds I've seen.

On the other hand, the main nas I am considering is the ds2422+ from synology. 

Pros: 
- 12 bays, double what I have now, plus expansion chassis
- SHR tech so I can add and replace mixed capacity drives as I go as I've been used to for the last 12 years on the netgear
- right form factor, low (relatively) power
- versatile software, more than I will ever use
- ready to go out of the gate

Cons:
- Price
- Features I don't need or are likely to use
- 108 tb single volume limit?  Unless that's been updates with later version of DSM
- not going to use their drives, EXOS is just too price compelling and higher capacity
- would want to instantly upgrade to 10gbe and nvme slots with the card

for a diy nas, I would need unraid, so I can continue my JBOD array of mixed capacity disks, even with the performance hit I take vs traditional raid

Pros:
- flexible hardware