Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Super Confused and need advice

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie that is super confused and frustrated. I have already setup up my NAS but the process is not going smoothly and I feel like the more I try to research how to fix things the more complicated and overwhelming all the technical details are getting.

To Start - I setup a Qnap TS-464-8G-US with 2 seagate exos 20TB drives. I am using this set up with Jellyfin just for a home media server for my movies and photos. My process is basically to use MakeMKV to create a MKV file of my movies and put them directly to my NAS with no handbrake compression. I did the basic setup straight off of Robbie's Qnap and Jellyfin set up videos and that part went splendidly. But I now have 3 really big follow up problems/slash questions. I have tried to research these issues but it's like going down a rabbit hole of technical details I can not mentally process. I am not trying to become a tech wizard. I just want to stream my own movies instead of paying Amazon $4.99 every time I want to watch Ferris Bueller's Day Off! 

1 - This part I might have frakked up. After I had uploaded 3 MKV files and the system acquired all the meta data files I saw they were all just jumbled together so I tried to organize the movies using different folders for my movie categories. Then the next day they were all moved around and it took a minute to find but it looks like they got put into snapshot folders. I deleted all the folders and files I made and tried to reload the movies but they still keep moving to snapshot folders. 
1Q - Can someone please link me to a video about how to Organize the files in Qnap File Station and how to keep snapshot from moving them around?