Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Free NAS OS for TM F4-423

Hi all,

sorry for my english (Italy here).

I have a Terramaster F4-423, a 4 HD + 2 SSD bay NAS using TOS 5.1 os with 20GB of no-ecc ram (4gb + 16gb).
There is an internal USB port with the original TM pen drive connected to and another free usb external port.
It contains the following drives: 1TB SSD, 2TB HD, 3TB HD, 8TBHD, 18TB HD, all of them formatted in BTRFS.

I'm a very newbie with nas; I never set up a RAID and I roughly know what it is.
I set up every drive separately as a single drive with it's own storage pool.
I set up a couple of rsync scheduled backup of the shared folders I care more to an external drive.

I know I am renouncing to redoundancy and I have many fragmented shares, but it's ok to me: I have very little data I care of (photos and docs) and I want to use all the available space.
Also I love to be able to hot-extract a drive and connect it to an usb port of my pc accessing all the data it contains.

On this NAS I use:
- a web server supporting mysql and php
- dockers
- Plex
- Jellyfin
- qBittorrent
- Virtualbox

I am considering to replace the TOS operating system and I read some pages about and I went to the following possibilities:
1. TRUENAS SCALE
2. UNRAID
3. OPEN MEDIA VAULT

Truenas scale seems the best choice but it seems more difficult to understand, and I am a newbie; also it seems to me, as for what I understood, that I am stuck with ZFS and so I couldn't extract a drive and connect to a linux pc accessing it's data easily.
Also it seems to require ECC memory.
Also I couldn't understand if it's possible to keep all disks separated or I have to make some sort of raid.
Also seems a parity disk is needed, possibly the more sized one.

Unraid seems a better solution for me as it natively support docker and virtualization.
But it's not free and a lifetime license is expensive.