Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Need Advice on Choosing the Best NAS for Home Media Streaming and Backup

Hello there,

I am relatively new to the world of NAS and would appreciate some guidance from the more experienced members of this community. I am looking to invest in a NAS system primarily for home media streaming and backing up important files and photos. After doing some preliminary research; I have come across a few models that seem promising; but I am having a hard time deciding which one would best suit my needs.

I have a large collection of movies; TV shows; and music that I want to stream to multiple devices; including smart TVs; tablets; and smartphones. I would like the NAS to handle 4K streaming without hiccups.

I need a reliable solution for backing up my family's computers and storing photos and documents. Redundancy and data protection are important to me.

As a beginner; I prefer a NAS that is user-friendly with a straightforward setup process. Good software support and a robust app ecosystem would be a bonus.

I would love to hear your thoughts on these models. Specifically; how do they compare in terms of performance, reliability, and ease of use? Are there any other models I should consider? Additionally; any tips on initial setup; essential apps; or must-have accessories would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance.
Based on your needs for home media streaming, backup, and ease of use, Celeron-based models like the Synology DS224+ or DS423+ would be excellent choices. Here's why:

Performance: The Celeron processors in these models offer sufficient power for handling media streaming and backup tasks effectively, including 4K streaming without hiccups.

Reliability: Synology is known for the reliability of its NAS systems, with regular software updates and strong hardware components that ensure stable operation over time.