Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

WebDAV

Heart 
First of all, thank you Rob... for being a real good and genuine bloke, wanting to help people.
Ideally Id rather talk to you instead of writing everything but I will try to cram everything in this post.
The project Im working on is pretty much geared towards helping people as well and I really could use some help reaching my goals.
I have done "a ton" of research but Im really stuck right now. The more I learn the more questions I tend to have so I have decided to stop learning about these things as Im really not computer "savy". 
As a research student, I need to have my own WebDAV folder so that I am able to sync my files via Windows, android phone and mainly Ipad directly to my own WebDAV server acting as my own "cloud" stored in my own home instead of a lets say dropbox, icloud ect which is out of my hands.
The closest I came was being able to set it up via Windows IIS + Publishing + Using SSL certificate to ensure I can be on the HTTPS version ect
BUT
that seems to be VERY weak in terms of security according to alot of posts it is easy to get into as long as the IP is known via commands on a Linux forexample. Besides, that would mean my WebDAV folder is ON my computer which makes it a bad idea for backups.