Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

I need two computers to share everything

I'm upgrading my internet radio station computers. I bought 2 Window 11 computers, 1 for the main & 1 for backup. But, they don't talk to each other. I need someone working on 1 to see what someone working on 2 has done. I also need it so that if computer 1 stops, then computer 2 can continue putting the music on air. The computers are currently attached to the internet route via ethernet cables (they don't have WIFI). There are no more ethernet ports on the computers, so can't use an ethernet cross over cable. All of the ports on my router are in use (one to a splitter that I have both computers plugged into.) How can I get these 2 computers working together? I’ll need a printer added eventually, too. I'm not tech savvy so will need very simple instructions on how to make these work together, or happy to pay someone to come do it for me. Thanks.
additional Ethernet ports and allows multiple devices to communicate with each other through the same router. Simply connect the switch to the router and then connect both computers to the switch using Ethernet cables. This setup will allow both computers to access the internet and communicate with each other on the same network.

In order to share files between the two computers, you will need to set up file sharing on one of the computers and access the shared files from the other computer. Windows 11 has built-in file sharing capabilities and you can find instructions for setting it up in the Windows Help and Support center.

For the backup computer to take over if the main computer fails, you can set up network failover software. There are several options available, some of which are free, and others that are paid. You can research and choose the one that suits your needs best.