Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Best RS Unit for Music Storage (Midi / Audio)

Greetings Robbie,

Thank you so much for all of your knowledge and advice when it comes to NAS Compares. I really have learned a lot from listening to you and I really enjoy your channel! Smile

I am a pianist and composer here in Nashville, TN, and I am currently running a PC, Windows 10, 64 GB RAM. I am wanting to find a way Robbie of backing up my Midi and Audio Files (Cubase 11) and for my sheet music Dorico 3.5. I currently have a Glyph Drive that is in my rack, which is right below my Steinberg MR816X Audio interface. However, I can't find any manufactures that can mount the new Glyph Drives in my rack.

I could maybe use 1TB on each of the 4 Drives. So, right now, I don't need a lot of space, but as I begin making audio files for Music Libraries for tv and film and to continue with my own solo piano compositions, I want to make sure I have a secure system in place. Not only for backup, but also for networking if need be when working with other composers.

I am new to the world of NAS, but I have seen a couple of musicians on YouTube, and I think they both were using the DS920+ from Synology. I was looking at the RS822+ which is the 4 bay. I like the price, but was not sure if this would work for what I am needing it to do? I believe you mentioned in the RS822+ video that it wouldn't be the best for multimedia? And that it only goes to 2GB Memory?

There is also the RS1221+ which can expand the memory a little more. I wasn't sure if this would be a better option or not? Might be over kill with the 8 bays. But, was trying to find a way to not only back up my midi, sheet music, and audio files, but also my system drive on my PC? I have watched a video on YouTube about swapping out the fans on this unit to make it quieter, but then the temperature getting a little warmer on these? Plus that might work against me when it comes to my warranty?