Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hue Bridge, Synology and Plex Media Server

Hi Robbie and Eddie and everyone in the NASCompares Community

I recently bought a Hue Bridge, but as soon as I connect it to my router and network (wired connection) it breaks my Plex Media Server. For some reason it instantly disables the remote access.

I run my Plex Media Server on a DS1019+ - which before I got the Hue Bridge was working great.
I had to manually port forward the server - which I managed having very little idea what I was doing :-)
I am on Hyperoptic, with an IPV4 for a static IP address.

I had a look online for advice, but as I am nowhere near being a network savvy expert, I was really unsure how to fix it.

I would really appreciate some advice and instructions on how to fix this, please.

I'll happily buy coffees.

Kind regards,
Simon
I will be completely straight with you, YOUR question is one that (in nearly for years of running this service) that I am REALLY having difficulty answering. I have run alot of smart home bits, setting up IoT systems and containers on NAS, as well as helping people set up their 3rd party OS Smart homes (and the Alexa/google home wave). But when it comes to Phillips Hue setups, they have always been something of a puzzler to me. It's particularly annoying as I know you have paid a donation for a faster reply (that I can happily refund tbh, as you are not getting support right now!).

That said, I do have some experience in Plex and Smart Home /IoT and in cases like this, you often find is that either:

1) The plex remote access settings (either with DNLA on/off and or remote access restrictions (as Plex still needs to 'bounce' off their own server, even locally) is being over-riden by the Hue gateway. Sometimes it is the other way around (which is much more command based to resolve, as the GUI of plex is easier to manage).