Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

NAS as web server and apps variety

Hi mate! I’m a developer and security consultant. I’ve been using an Airport Time Capsule 5th gen to store mostly movies and series and I use Infuse on Apple TV 4K to watch them, it’s worth to mention that 90% of that media is 4K HDR and it streams without lagging; I also use it to store software, transfer speed is slow (25MB/s average) but for the things I’m using it for it's enough.

A few days ago I started to look for NAS devices on Amazon, exclusively thinking about storing media and software and came upon Sinology and QNAP devices; I’ve never payed special attention to NAS devices, I knew that some had a sort of App Store but I’ve never checked to which extent that went; then I found out about both Sinology and QNAP devices being able to host websites and that’s when it really picked my interest because I’ve developed some php sites (MYSQL Databases) to a few clients that manufacture shoes.

Since those websites are really basic and lightweight I’m installing them in each client’s computer and they simply use any browser to access their localhost; so I’m seeing the opportunity to host all my clients sites on these NAS devices, installing Apache, PHP, MYSQL database and PhpMyAdmin. The sites are really light and although I would serve to ~20 clients, not everyone will be logged in at the same time; maybe 5 or max 10 clients will be logged in and connected to the MYSQL database at any given time, and even so they wouldn’t be hitting the DB at a high rate or doing heavy data management.