Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

NAS for photo editing?

Hi Rob, I have been watching a lot of your videos in the last couple of months and thank you for sharing such good information - it really helps.

I have been using a NAS for about 10 years now (NASDeluxe 7bay, 2700T), to house and store my pretty large collection of movies - mostly 1080p, mkv. Since it has had very poor speeds during the last months, and I can't even watch a 720p movie without stopping the movie about 5 times during the entire movie (and I need to restart my Popcorn hour C200), I thought it was time to get a new NAS. Transcoding the movies sounds nice, but I'm not sure if that is smth for me, as I usually always work from home and in the off chance I am on the road and want to look at a movie, I am in the airplane, so I have no connection to the Internet anyway.

In reading and looking on Youtube, I found that I can also edit straight from the NAS, provided that my Lightroom catalog is on my computer. I have a self-built WIN10 machine with loads of HDD's inside to house my photos and edit them usually off an internal SSD (not M.2 yet, as my PC is about 7 years old). I never thought about putting my images on my NAS, to edit them directly, as I found the speed lacking - but this suddenly became an option.

In my house, I have almost everything wired with cat5e UTP, gigaswitches, an ASUS AC-RT5300, ASUS AC-RT68u and two ASUS AC-RT86u to have enough Wifi coverage in the house - but no 10 Gbe connections or wiring, nor on my PC. I do not have a thunderbolt port in my PC either. My other machine I work off of, is a Dell XPS15 (9550), which does have a thunderbolt, but the machine is so bad for editing, that I'm usually only using it in a pinch, despite it having an M.2 Samsung EVO Plus 1TB SSD and the specs being the best Dell offered at the time of purchase.